Daddy and daughter bonding at the football

Going the football used to be a relaxing, carefree experience – at least until the match kicked off.

Now it requires regular toilet trips, a heavily stocked bag of snacks and a fully charged iPad.

But I wouldn’t change it for the world.

I’ve been taking my little girl now for just over a year – with her first season ticket being purchased back in May, the same week as her third birthday.

Taking my daughter means my wife isn’t stuck at home with two kids all day, and it gives her the opportunity to bond with the boy.

Equally, spending the day with my daughter means she gets daddy’s unwavering attention which is virtually impossible any other time as I have her brother’s needs to contend with.

Thankfully, she loves going too.

The girl’s first game.

I’m not sure she pays a great deal of attention to what’s happening on the pitch but she knows when we’ve scored.

A recent and rather surprising 4-0 win left her as perplexed as the rest of us – she’s never had her iPad viewing interrupted so much!

Her match day starts with the bus trip to the ground and after deciding who gets the honour of sitting next to her – dad, grandad or uncle Ian – she starts making a dent in her food supplies.

When we arrive it’s straight to the chippy for her cone of chips and then we rush inside for the first of many toilet trips.

Sandwiched in between this is the stewards making a big fuss of her as she waltzes through the turnstiles like a seasoned pro.

The girl tucks into her food and after declining uncle Ian’s weekly offer of a beer, she waters it all down with a juice.

Ready to tuck into her chips!

Another toilet trip follows before we make our way up the stairs and to our seats.

After more fussing from those who sit around us, she parks her bum and begins tackling the treats mummy has packed in her bag.

During the game we may require one of two toilet visits, though I’ve managed to convince her to take these at half time and when the full time whistle is blown.

She is such a pleasure to sit next to, it still amazes me how she takes it all in her stride.

She enjoys singing some of the (clean) songs and when she’s not playing on the iPad she’ll cuddle up to me while the action unfolds.

The ten minute walk back to the bus sees her take pride of place on dad’s shoulders – she pretends she’s the policewoman and I’m the horse!

Again we await her decision as to who gets the honour of sitting next to her on the bus.

Then it’s homeward bound and the end of a lovely daddy and daughter bonding day – whatever the result.

Sparkles & Stretchmarks Sunday Best

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

The Pramshed
DIY Daddy Blog
14 thoughts on “Daddy and daughter bonding at the football”

  1. This made me smile. My dad used to take me to the footy when I was a little girl. I had no idea what was going on but I’m sure it was nice for my mum to get me out the house for a few hours.

    Unfortunately I started getting into it when I was a teenager. I say unfortunately because I support Bolton wanderers. They don’t really ever do that well 😂

    #SundayBest

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I went to both Burnden Park and more recently the Reebok (not sure what it’s called these days) to see Everton at Bolton. We didn’t win one of them! Thanks for reading glad you enjoyed it 😁

      Like

  2. This is lovely. An ambivalent to football person pre children I have found myself swept up in the kids enthusiasm… . To the point I now love it as much as them (brainwashed I tell you!)… It’s not easy being a Hull City fan in Manchester…. #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post I always took my older children to the football and my one daughter went onto to play football for Wales at different age levels and finally senior level it’s a fab way to bond Thanks for linking to the #THAT FRIDAY LINKY come back next week please

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

